UN ‘Water for Life’ Best Practices Award, 2012

Environment Support Group was awarded UN Water’s ‘best practices’ award in 2012 for its efforts in “Protection of Bangalore Lakes for Posterity – Setting a Legal Precedent for Conservation of Lakes as Commons, India”.  Leo F. Saldanha, Coordinator of ESG presented the organisations initiatives to protect and conserve lake networks to an audience that included:

  • Secretary, Water Resources, Brazilian Government *
  • Ms. Blanca Jiménez-Cisneros. Vice-Chair UN-Water, Director Division of Water Sciences UNESCO
  • Mr. Jorge Miguel Samek. Brazilian General Director of Itaipu Binacional.
  • Mr. James Spalding. Paraguayan General Director of Itaipu Binacional.
  • Mr. Vicente Andreu Guillo. President Director of the Brazilian National Water Agency – ANA.
  • Mr. Nelton Friedrich. Director of Coordination of Itaipu Binacional
  • Mr. Idibek Kalandarov. Head of the International Organizations Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Tajikistan
  • Mr. Lupercio Ziroldo Antonio. President of the Brazilian network of hydrographic basins. REBOB.
  • Ms. Josefina Maestu. Director, UN-Water Decade Programme on Advocacy and Communication (UNW-DPAC), Coordinator, United Nations Office to Support the International Decade for Action ‘Water for Life’ 2005-2015
  • Ms. Alice Bouman-Dentener. Honorary Founding President of Women for Water Partnership (WFWP) 

A Report entitled, ‘Five years of UN-Water “Water for Life” Awards 2011-2015‘ can be read here.

NDTV feature on ESG’s lakes conservation initiative