Declining Bird Species Over The Years

The first-of-its kind analysis on birds in India was carried out by scientists from 10 research and conservation organisations across India, using a database of over 10 million observations uploaded by 15,000 birdwatchers on the online platform, e-Bird. Today’s newspapers have carried information on this report that states that there has been a decline in 400 species of birds in the past 25 years. There has been a decline in 50% of the Indian bird species in the past decades. To read more about the status of birds in India, please refer to the newspaper article links below:

  1. “Nearly 400 Indian bird species’ number declined in the last 25 years, says new report”, Deccan Herald, 17th February 2020: https://www.deccanherald.com/national/nearly-400-indian-bird-species-declined-in-the-last-25-years-says-new-report-805613.html
  2. “Bird numbers see drastic fall in Mysuru region”, The Hindu, 18th February 2020: https://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/tp-karnataka/bird-numbers-see-drastic-fall-in-mysuru-region/article30847692.ece
  3. “Sparrows are shunning cities, moving to the country instead”, Bangalore Mirror, 17th February 2020: https://bangaloremirror.indiatimes.com/bangalore/others/sparrows-are-shunning-cities-moving-to-the-country-instead/articleshow/74182972.cms
  4. “New report finds India’s birds in overall decline, in some cases catastrophically so”, Economic Times, 17th February 2020: https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/environment/flora-fauna/new-report-finds-indias-birds-in-overall-decline-in-some-cases-catastrophically-so/articleshow/74171913.cms?from=mdr
  5. “79 Indian birds on decline but peafowls increase: Report”, The Week, 17th February 2020: https://www.theweek.in/wire-upda:tes/national/2020/02/18/bom1-gj-birds-report.html
  6. “Population of birds in India is declining catastrophically: Report”, ANI, 17th February 2020: https://www.aninews.in/news/national/general-news/population-of-birds-in-india-is-declining-catastrophically-report20200217234730
  7. “More than 50% of Indian birds at long-term extinction risk, claims first-of-its-kind report”, The Print, 18th February 2020: https://theprint.in/science/more-than-50-of-indian-birds-at-long-term-extinction-risk-claims-first-of-its-kind-report/366715/
  8. Report shows dramatic rise in India’s peacock count in last 25 years; 50% of other birds record decline”, Indian Express, 17th February 2020: https://indianexpress.com/article/india/state-of-indias-bird-2020-6272267/
  9. “Peafowls fly high, sparrows hold steady, but many other species show sharp decline in birdwatchers’ report”, Times of India, 17th February 2020: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/74181373.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cpps
  10. “Over 52% of birds in India in major decline, warn scientists in a new report”, Live Mint, 17th February 2020: https://www.livemint.com/news/india/over-52-of-birds-in-india-in-major-decline-warn-scientists-in-a-new-report-11581945596602.html
  11. “India’s Birds in Danger? Of Species Assessed in Citizen Science Project, 50% Show Decline”, News 18, 17th February 2020: news18.com/news/india/indias-birds-in-danger-50-out-of-867-species-declining-says-citizen-science-report-2503903.html
  12. “Among dwindling numbers, some bright spots for India’s birds”, Research Matters, 17th February 2020: https://researchmatters.in/news/among-dwindling-numbers-some-bright-spots-india%E2%80%99s-birds

To know more about ESG’s initiatives on conducting a survey of lakes of Bangalore as Wetland Ecosystems and Waterfowl Habitats, click here: https://esgindia.org/new/education/an-invitation-to-revisit-1989-effort-surveying-lakes-of-bangalore-as-wetland-ecosystems-and-waterfowl-habitats/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *